Thursday, April 28, 2011

'McCartney' and 'McCartney II' Reissues

Concord Music Group continues its giant reissues project of Paul McCartney's catalog with the announcement that 'McCartney' (1970) and 'McCartney II' (1980) will be available on CD and online beginning June 7. If you don't have these albums already, I suggest you own these in the format of your choice. As I mentioned earlier this year, I got a stellar vinyl copy of 'McCartney II' for Christmas. So, this makes getting this new-and-improved version a bitter pill. I guess it comes down to whether the extras are worth it... although the fact these classics were remastered at Abbey Road Studios by the same team that worked on 2009's Beatles reissues is also something to consider.

Here's a quick rundown of the particulars: 'McCartney' will feature seven bonus tracks, including live performances and outtakes, on a bonus CD. A deluxe edition will add a DVD (with a behind-the-scenes look at the album and live footage) and a 128-page booklet with rare photos taken by Paul and his late wife Linda. "McCartney II" will feature eight bonus tracks on a bonus CD with live and alternate versions. A deluxe edition will add another CD and a DVD with music videos. It also will come with a 128-page booklet with rare photographs. See the complete tracklist, as well as a couple of videos from the time period, below.

McCartney's work this past decade, particularly 'Chaos and Creation in the Backyard,' has been inspiring. It's nice to see the best of his back catalog is getting a much deserved sprucing.

'McCartney' Tracklist:
1. The Lovely Linda
2. That Would Be Something
3. Valentine Day
4. Every Night
5. Hot As Sun/Glasses
6. Junk
7. Man We Was Lonely
8. Oo You
9. Momma Miss America
10. Teddy Boy
11. Singalong Junk
12. Maybe I'm Amazed
13. Kreen-Akrore
1. Suicide (outtake)
2. Maybe I'm Amazed (from TV special 'One Hand Clapping')
3. Every Night (live in Glasgow, 1979)
4. Hot As Sun (live in Glasgow, 1979)
5. Maybe I'm Amazed (Live in Glasgow, 1979)
6. Don't Cry Baby (outtake)
7. Women Kind (demo)
1. The Album Story
2. The Beach
3. Maybe I'm Amazed (music video)
4. Suicide (from TV special One Hand Clapping)
5. Every Night (live at 'Concert For The People Of Kampuchea')
6. Hot As Sun (live at 'Concert For The People Of Kampuchea')
7. Junk (from 'MTV Unplugged')
8. That Would Be Something (from 'MTV Unplugged')

'McCartney II' Tracklist:
1. Coming Up
2. Temporary Secretary
3. On The Way
4. Waterfalls
5. Nobody Knows
6. Front Parlour”
7. Summer's Day Song”
8. Frozen Jap
9. Bogey Music
10. Darkroom
11. One Of These Days
1. Blue Sway (with Richard Niles orchestration)
2. Coming Up (live in Glasgow)
3. Check My Machine (edit)
4. Bogey Wobble
5. Secret Friend
6. Mr H Atom/You Know I'll Get You Baby
7. Wonderful Christmastime (edit)
8. All You Horse Riders/Blue Sway
1. Coming Up (full-length version)
2. Front Parlour (full-length version)
3. Frozen Jap (full-length version)
4. Darkroom (full-length version)
5. Check My Machine (full-length version)
6. Wonderful Christmastime (full-length version)
7. Summer's Day Song (original without vocals)
8. Waterfalls (DJ edit)
01. Meet Paul McCartney
02. Coming Up (music video)
03. Waterfalls (music video)
04. Wonderful Christmastime (music video)
05. Coming Up ((live at the 'Concert For The People Of Kampuchea')
06. Coming Up (taken from a rehearsal session at Lower Gate Farm, 1979)
07. Making the "Coming Up" music video
08. Blue Sway

No comments: