Sunday, September 23, 2012

Can Madness Match 'Norton Folgate'?

Tidbits on the impending release from Madness have been trickling in and, if you heard the band's last album, you know there is reason to be excited. Like most of you, I imagine, I had given up on expecting anything good from the Nutty Boys more than 25 years ago. Much like recent albums from OMD and Dexys, Madness' 2009 release, 'The Liberty of Norton Folgate,' took me completely by surprise. I would put it up against anything in the band's catalog... even the Stiff years. I'll give you a moment to close your jaw.

About six weeks ago, Madness gave out a new song as a free download. We knew it would be part of a new album, but we didn't have an album name, street date or any other important details. All we had was "Death of a Rude Boy." If you haven't heard it yet, you can grab it below. For you 2 Tone Records fans, this new song is going to sound very very familiar. (You could even say "derivative." Hopefully their old pals the Specials find the whole thing flattering.) We just learned the new song will appear on 'Oui Oui Si Si Ja Ja Da Da,' and the album will be out Oct. 30. The first official single will be "My Girl 2" and will be released a week earlier. Kind of an interesting song title for us old-school fans, eh?

Here's the complete album tracklist, and you can preorder here. I'm hopeful we'll have an album worthy of following up the brilliant 'Norton Folgate.'

Madness - Death of a Rude Boy (mp3)

'Oui Oui Si Si Ja Ja Da Da' Tracklist
1. My Girl 2
2. Never Knew Your Name
3. La Luna
4. How Can I Tell You
5. Kitchen Floor
6. Misery
7. Leon
8. Circus Freaks
9. So Alive
10. Small World
11. Death of A Rude Boy
12. Powder Blue (Bonus Track)
13. Black and Blue (Bonus Track)
14. My Girl 2 (Bonus Track)

Album Preview

1 comment:

Uncle E said...

Man I freakin' loved The Liberty Of...!! Amazing record, and my jaw didn't open once when you said it could be their best. You know, The FIXX just released a new album, and it's pretty darn good! Now it's your turn to pick your jaw up off the floor!


Uncle E