Tuesday, November 2, 2010

New Releases: Eno, Costello and More

Get out and vote! After you've pulled the lever, head over to your local record shop for these LPs out today. LTL! isn't a democracy, however. I only give you the records I think are good.

For the second time in as many weeks, I get to mention the great Brian Eno. He showed up on Bryan Ferry's latest, 'Olympia,' and today Eno releases 'Small Craft On A Milk Sea,' his first new record in five years (album cover above). This one is for fans of 'Music for Airports.' You can stream three songs before you buy it.

Elvis Costello teamed up with T Bone Burnett in 1985 for 'King of America.' Throughout the ensuing years that has consistently been my second favorite Costello record of all time. (In case your curious, 'Get Happy!' always tops my list.) Costello and Burnett have worked together a couple of times since then, and here they are again with 'National Ransom.' With all of the guest spots and genre hopping, this one reminds me of 'King of America.' Both of his recent bands -- the Imposters and the Sugarcanes -- are here, as well as Vince Gill, Jerry Douglas, Marc Ribot and Buddy Miller. Here are a couple of live takes from the new one. If you like what you see and hear, buy it here.

On the reissue front, the Jam's catalog continues to get the deluxe edition treatment with 'Sound Affects.' The 1980 album is a must. It features the UK No. 1 "Start!" as and fan favorite "That's Entertainment." For those of you who own the 'Direction Reaction, Creation' box set, this release isn't a big deal. If you have the B-sides collection 'Extras,' it is a little more important to get this two-disc set. As for me, I don't have the Jam's take on the "Waterloo Sunset," and that is my absolute favorite Kinks tune. So, I'm in. There are more than 20 bonus tracks in all, and eight of them have never been released. Here is a look at disc two, as well as the video for "That's Entertainment." You can buy 'Sound Affects: Deluxe Edition' on the other side of the pond today, or you can pre-order here and sit for a week. We Americans don't like to wait, but I would cast a vote for patience.

Demos, B-Sides and Alternate Versions:
1. Start!
2. Liza Radley
3. That’s Entertainment
4. Pretty Green
5. Pop Art Poem
6. Rain
7. Boy About Town
8. Dream Time
9. Dead End Street
10. But I’m Different Now
11. Scrapeaway
12. Start!
13. Liza Radley
14. And Your Bird Can Sing
15. Monday
16. Get Yourself Together
17. Set The House Ablaze
18. Boy About Town
19. No One In The World
20. Instrumental
21. Waterloo Sunset

No comments: