Monday, February 1, 2010

Paul Weller Album Announced

Since he already has nine solo studio albums under his belt, I guess we are way past the point when we put "former frontman of The Jam and The Style Council" in front of his name, but Paul Weller will release 'Wake Up Nation', his tenth studio album, on May 5. His label here in America, Yep Roc, says the record is "lean" and "mean". The first song we hear from it, "7&3 Is The Strikers Name" is a testament to that. Many Americans may think Weller's days as a viable commercial artist are behind him but, as his last album showed, that's just not the case. The underrated '22 Dreams' was his third solo LP to go to No. 1 in the UK. Yes, music fans across the pond are brighter than us. If you need a little help getting excited about 'Wake Up The Nation", maybe this will help. Kevin Shields and former Jam bassist Bruce Foxton stopped by the studio. See the video below, and check back for U.S. tour dates that we have been promised will be out soon.

'Wake Up the Nation' tracklisting
1. Moonshine
2. Wake Up The Nation
3. No Tears To Cry
4. Fast Car/Slow Traffic
5. Andromeda
6. In Amsterdam
7. She Speaks
8. Find The Torch, Burn The Plans
9. Aim High
10. Trees
11. Grasp and Still Connect
12. Whatever Next
13. 7&3 Is The Strikers Name
14. Up The Dosage
15. Pieces of a Dream
16. Two Fat Ladies

No comments: