Wednesday, January 27, 2010

Anticipated Albums Announced

This is exciting. A couple of bands that appeared on my best tracks and albums of the decade lists (see bottom) have dates set for their next LPs. We knew Robert Schneider had been busy with his side project, Thee American Revolution, but it turns it he was working double time. Schneider's main musical outlet, the Apples in Stereo, will release 'Travellers in Space and Time' on April 20 via via Yep Roc/Simian/Elephant 6. The Apples In Stereo's last album, 2007's 'New Magnetic Wonder', was quite a comeback for a band that hadn't released anything since the underrated 'Velocity of Sound' in 2002. No mp3s from the upcoming record have hit the Internet as of yet, but stay tuned. Here is the tracklist:
1. The Code
2. Dream About the Future
3. Hey Elevator
4. Strange Solar System
5. Dance Floor
6. C.P.U.
7. No One in the World
8. Dignified Dignitary
9. No Vacation
10. Told You Once
11. It's All Right
12. Next Year at About the Same Time
13. Floating in Space
14. Nobody But You
15. Wings Away
16. Time Pilot
And here is one from their last album to get you in the mood:
The Apples In Stereo - Same Old Drag (mp3)

Two weeks after Apples in Stereo drops 'Travellers', the New Pornographers will release 'Together'. A.C. Newman wrote nine of the songs and Dan Bejar penned the other three. The most interesting nugget we know is that the Dap-Kings Horns contributed to the power-pop extravaganza. Matador's Matablog promises the first mp3 is coming soon. I can't wait to hear this one on May 4. And here is yet another one from a band's last album to get you in the mood:
The New Pornographers - My Rights Versus Yours (mp3)

And just to recap, in case you're interested, here is the breakdown on these two bands as they appeared on my previously mentioned best of the decade lists:
Top 100 Tracks of the Decade:
47. The New Pornographers - Letter From An Occupant
72. Apples in Stereo - Signal in the Sky (Let's Go)
Top 41 Albums of the Decade
7. The New Pornographers - Twin Cinema
17. The New Pornographers - Electric Version

No comments: