Monday, August 22, 2011

Hear New Song From Nick Lowe

I hope you're not sick of my constant harping about this, but here's some more news on the Nick Lowe front. His upcoming album, 'The Old Magic,' comes out Sept. 13, but if you preorder from Yep Roc, you will be sent two songs from the set, "Checkout Time" and "Somebody Cares for Me," right now. While you're thinking over that sweet offer, you can stream one of those songs below. Have you checked out the tracklist? I just did, and I'm happy to report that "Poisoned Rose" is, indeed, a cover of the Elvis Costello song from 'King of America,' my second-favorite album from his vast catalog.

Also, for you fang fans out there, you may have thought you heard Lowe's voice during the closing credits of 'True Blood' a couple of weeks ago. Yep, that was him singing the haunting "Cold Grey Light Of Dawn." It will appear on 'True Blood - Music From the HBO Series - Volume 3,' out Sept. 6. There are a few other great tunes on there, including Neko Case and Nick Cave covering the Zombies' "She's Not There." Check out the full tracklist and preorder info right here.

Finally, here are Lowe's complete North American tour dates. Woo-hoo! He's coming to Seattle.

'The Old Magic' Tracklist
1. Stoplight Roses
2. Checkout Time
3. House For Sale
4. Sensitive Man
5. I Read A Lot
6. Shame on the Rain
7. Restless Feeling
8. Poisoned Rose
9. Somebody Cares for Me
10. You Don't Know Me at All
11. Til' The Real Thing Comes Along

No comments: